Weird

While I was at the farm shop this morning I had a good - but sad - gossip with the checkout operator. It was prompted by a comment from her about staff illness/isolation absences in there reaching the point where they are struggling to stay open. 

That led to her expressing her frustration - and anxiety - about a small number of customers not wearing masks. Of course she has to wear one all day (perhaps apart from breaks) and like me, she struggles to understand why a customer cannot do it for 5-10 minutes.

It is always good to have these discussions, and perhaps knowing others are on her side will give her a bit of encouragement.      

The heavens had opened while I was there, so I got soaked going back to my car, then again going back to the cafe, then again crossing the road to the poly-tunnel to drink my coffee. 

I got soaked again going back to the car, and this routine was repeated at the deli in Falkland. Fortunately the filling station in Freuchie has a roof, so I stayed dry while refuelling the car. But then I got wet again unloading the car back at home. 

I have not gone out again. I think the rain has stopped, but it might just be waiting for me to leave the house.  

The Blip is the famous re-purposed poly-tunnel where I had my coffee and scone this morning. On my previous Kaffeepausen there the fire has not been on. The staff member who lights it does not start work until about the time I am leaving. 

Quite a lot of the smoke ends up in the tunnel rather than the chimney, so I am not convinced. I suspect CO poisoning is unlikely with the wide open entrance,  but I am not an expert. 

It was quite surreal sitting there with just a blue tit for company, the rain battering down on the plastic, and the fire crackling away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.