pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Comfort War

I had snapped this shot of my parent’s garden as a “safety blip” due to the fact that the majority of the day was going to be spent in the car and opportunities for photographs would be rightly limited.

We’ve had a lovely few days and despite the rotten drizzly weather, we were sad to leave Essex, but leave we did and via a fair amount of sunshine around the midlands arrived back in Kendal around 5 hours later to some grey drizzly weather. The children were deposited back with their mother whose partner was also present – whilst I didn’t see him, I did get a weird jolt from seeing his shoes left by the front door inside the house I used to live in. It is strange how almost three years on, this small detail prickled me. 

I headed home to begin the post-Christmas unpacking and washing process. I say that, but having brought everything inside, I was in dire need of some fresh air, so took a walk into town for some supplies.

In need of some comfort telly in between pottering about I watched some Parks and Recreation, which never fails to raise a chuckle. I think everything caught up with me and I ended up falling asleep on the sofa as Tony Stark and co lost round one of Infinity War to Thanos (such a good film).

Back to work tomorrow – boo hiss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.