BLYDDYN NEWYDD DDA

A Happy New Year (in welsh), which I used to speak but sadly now only remember a few phrases and words.  

I would like to take this opportunity of wish each and every one of you are VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR I sincerely hope that 2022 will be a good year for all of you and wish you much love, peace and good health.

We had decided we wouldn't stay up last night, I had some Prosecco earlier wth some cheese and biscuits.  Now that was a little bit of a mistake as I very rarely drink these days, but you know, special days and hogmanays I do.  I facetimed G to wish him a HAUD HOGMANAY and I played Andy Stewart singing Auld Lang Syne which we watched together.  Now true this really is him when he was extremely young and at the White Heather Club for Burns' Night - but it's still Auld Lang Syne.  Those of you British folk of a certain age will remember him I'm sure.  Now back in the day they used to put on a really good show on New Year's Eve, hosted of course by Andy Stewart, the TV used to know how to entertain back then.  

So we retire about 10.30, as per usual. however due the Prosecco this meant that by 11.30 I still could't sleep as my cheeks were still glowing (I  only had two glasses, honest).  So I got up.  I tried watching Jules Holland's Hootenanny  but really don't enjoy it like I used to, except the great Gregory Porter was on so he was worth watching.  Mind you it doesn't help knowing that although it's meant to be a New Year's Eve show it is actually filmed in October!!!

This also meant that I heard the fireworks in the area going off - some very loud and very close - my first thoughts were for all the pet owners and animals.  I hope none were affected too badly by it - Fletch and Gus especially.  I popped out onto the balcony and watched fireworks going up from across Morecambe and Arnside, which was lovely. 

Then I felt tired enough to retired.  Of coursse, as per usual once I'd retired my Bears had their celebrations (see extras)!!!!!!!!!

NOW TO TODAY
I was going to take down the Christmas decorations today, BUT IT WAS NOT RAINING OR TOO FOGGY so I decided we needed to go for a good leg stretch - for us.  The decorations can wait until tomorrow.

So we drove down to Windermere Road, parked up and then had a walk through Eggerslack Wood from there.  Now I've never been from this way before and didn't realise how steep it was in places - and of course having been so wet - slippy.  Of course this is steep for us, for a lot of you it would be nothing.  

There are some great limestone walls in these woods and also what looked like some sort of huge of pool or bath (see extras again).  I wonder what they were for!!??  However with great care we made it to the base of Hampsfell before taking the track and road back down to the Hampsfell House Hotel and then into Grange.  Also at the end of the walk there is the remnants of an old Lime Kiln (I think) - so all very interesting.

We only met one lady, who was very kind and waited for me to pick my way up the path, and one cyclist on very rough ground going up -  all the way round.  We also saw so many fallen trees, I hadn't realised just how many had gone down in Eggerslack Wood.  There were a couple that had to duck under or climb over as they were blocking the path - but it wasn't difficult.

Surprisingly the S Cafe was open and was not too busy so we popped in for a coffee and a sandwich.  It got busier but not heaving so that was good and they were all so good with their covid precautions.  The majority of people came in masked up and sanitised at the door, however, as always - there was one young couple who didn't  and one from a cycling group who came in without a mask.  I'm surprised they weren't asked to wear one.  

The photos aren't as sharp as I would like them, but then when walking with hubby I don't get much chance to make adjustments as he wants to keep moving along.  Still I'm lucky to have CumbriaLass to go walking with too who doesnt mind at all how long I take to set up a photo as she is doing the same herself.  

Do take care everyone and stay safe and see you all tomorrow.  Thank you all so much for continuing to drop by and apologies for this very long blip, I got carried away!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.