A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

A wet Bank holiday Monday

As ever!

So indoor things are the order of the day.

Spent a good bit of the morning up loading my ‘Bendle Year Book 2021’ on blurb to be published as they’re is a good New Year offer. Whilst doing so I watched The Railway Children on TV. An absolute favourite film probably because it was filmed in the next valley just a few miles away. There has been a new version filmed during 2021, don’t think they were as lucky with the weather but it will be interesting to see it when it is released later this year.

In addition I have tidied a few things away but never everything before 12th Night.

I’ve sorted the edge pieces of a new jigsaw ‘The World of Charles Dickens’ seems appropriate for the Christmas period and I shall start it soon.

Also I’ve been dipping in to my new book. It’s a treat to me. I didn’t get books for Christmas this year which is unusual ( see last year) but I have a pile beside the bed and having started the Tittle Tattle book group they will take longer to get through than usual, despite reading in bed every night and in the bath every morning!
I debated about buying this huge tome largely because of the cost but the subject is very much a part of my childhood in the ‘60s. 
Waterstones made it their book of the year and it was discounted but their post Christmas 50% off hardbacks sale specifically excluded it. Then low and behold it was suddenly 50% off. I succumbed and ordered it receiving it on Friday.

As I said I am dipping in reading a bit each day. Read the introductions and am now on C - Can’t buy me Love. The two volumes cover the songs alphabetically making it easy to read this way. Each song lyric has a background of how and where it was written and pertinent events at the time. 
Glad I succumbed !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.