Balcarres

Back to school for BB, and for me a trip into Edinburgh.  I left TT at home marking exams – though he is technically still on holiday.  My main reason for going into Edinburgh was to see the Alison Watt exhibition at the Portrait Gallery as it ends shortly, and I thought I would combine it with a very quick look around the shops.
 
I haven’t been in an art gallery for such a long time – but I had my ticket and off I went.  Even though I was there at just after 10am, there were more people there than I imagined there would be – but in reality not that many. Anyway the exhibition is just lovely – a  small number of still life paintings inspired by Allan Ramsay’s portraits of his wives.   Her paintings are just beautiful.  The detail is exquisite.  I could have them on my wall.  In complete contrast  I wandered around the rest of the gallery just because I was there.  The second reason for my trip was to try and get a new pair of running shoes.  I went to Run and Become who provide a first class fitting service and came away many pounds (££) lighter, but with a pair of “prescribed” running shoes.  Having got them home, I may not wear them for a  while as they are very light in colour and it is just too muddy.  My current pair are caked in mud and will do a bit longer – at least until the weather improves.
 
I then wandered back through town popping into a couple of shops where I picked up a few bargains which will be stashed away for birthday/Christmas presents later in the year!  To be hones I have lost my ability to shop, and when I walk into a shop and it looks like a jumble sale (as many do at this time of year), I just walk out again. 
 
Once home, I saved TT from his marking and dragged him out for a late afternoon river walk.  It was lovely as the sun went down and the ground was still very crisp.  BB’s return to school has been short lived.  He is WFH tomorrow and Friday due to a shortage of teachers, hopefully back in again on Monday.  We will wait and see.  He’s not delighted that they are not being prioritised for face to face teaching, given the exams will be here before we know it.
 
Later TT cooked up a very tasty aloo gobi for tea, then there was more Chestnut Man and mince pies!
 
This lace collar is from the exhibition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.