Fidra

I had to be up and out early today as I was meeting a friend.  No long lie, no slow and lazy start to the day.  I was rather delayed in getting away as I forgot to do my lateral flow test when I first got up – so had to wait on that, then when I eventually got out to the car it was frozen solid, so more time was taken while I scraped it and then I eventually got away.  We walked on a  different railway path today – the Pencaitland railway path but we took our lives in our hands getting from her house to the path as it was so slippery everywhere.  We had a lovely walk and a good catch up – it was cold, but we didn’t really notice it.  We saw loads of birds including bullfinches flittering around.  On our way back we stopped at the newish café (new to me) and had a scone and a cuppa – and we sat outside.  Who would have thought that we would be sitting outside in January in Scotland – when everything around us was frozen solid.  We felt quite sheltered and were well wrapped up – so it was all good. 
 
We headed back to  my friend’s house,  and took a wee detour so she could show me where she is working at the moment.  I then drove home in the sunshine, dropped the car at home and spotted that BB was still in his pjs (though doing school work) and then quickly headed into town to pick up our pre-ordered lunch.   By the time I got home BB had showered and got himself dressed.
 
TT and I then headed over to Dirleton and walked to Yellowcraigs and then along the beach and back through the dunes.  It was lovely, but cold, and the sun was dropping.  BB stayed at home to finish his school work (even though Friday is a half day for them), as he had to read some of his English book and do some work on it for Monday.
 
I made a tuna pasta bake for tea, and then later BB had a football match.  It’s was  just a friendly – but with an 8pm kick off – it felt like a late game for a  cold January Friday night.  TT went down and watched the second half.  Once they were home, TT chose a film, which was rubbish.  I watched a bit of it, then gave up. 
 
A view of Fidra from my afternoon walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.