Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A frosty sunrise

After a miserable and wet December we have been blessed with some beautiful winter weather this week. Last night on checking the forecast for today, I planned to go to Bushy Park for sunrise, so I was up early this morning - not too early, I only left home just after 7am, to get there in time for dawn at about 7.20am and then sunrise at 8.00am.

There was a thick frost covering everything, the ponds were mainly frozen, and there was a low lying mist - and boy was it cold! It was -2C and after about 20 minutes of taking photos my hands were aching with the cold. I have poor circulation in my hands - probably have Reynauds - as my fingers go completely white and purple as the blood drains out of them and I cannot use them, which makes it difficult to change dials and push buttons on my camera. 

There were so many photographers there, one woman said she had asked her Boss for the day off as the weather was so good and she wanted to spend the morning taking photos in the park. I was only there for about an hour, but I took quite a few photos - if you are interested you can see some more here.

When I got home I ordered some warm photographer gloves, I was recommended to get some that I hope will make a difference for me as I cannot cope any more in the cold with my hands.

Xena had a fabulous walk with P the dog walker and all her doggy pals, she came home covered in mud so I know she had a good romp with them. I always wash her down after these walks with hot water and she loves standing there enjoying the hot water.

Tonight Gavin and I will get a take away from our local Italian restaurant, and then it will be a lazy night watching TV. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.