A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Dear Deer

MrsP and I decided to do our grocery shopping this morning before the afternoon’s north winds plunged us into subzero temperatures tonight and tomorrow. It looks like snow is coming Sunday and Monday. Neither of us are impressed by it all but it is January, after all • A quick stop at the river was rewarded with the spotting of an eagle perched high in a tree. Unfortunately his view was mostly of ice so we were surprised to see him. Many smelt shacks made their first appearance upriver too, another surprise as small patches of open water are still visible. It’s also a tidal river. Perhaps that’s why drinking is so popular while fishing, LoL! • When filling feeders and setting the table for our dear deer, I noticed an audience of three watching closely as I spread out the apple, pear and carrot pieces. I also filled a clay pot with high-calorie deer grain, and sprinkled some bird seed on the side, all under watchful eyes • Unfortunately by the time I retrieved my camera they had separated and moved further into the woods • Have a cozy, peaceful weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.