''The Farm'

A rude awakening at 6am today. I don't think I've been up this early for many months! No messing about and we were in the car heading south by 6.15.

We had a stop at about 7.45 for breakfast, and another briefly delivering some bits to Jon's sister in Cambridge. Then full speed ahead to Hoddesdon - except it wasn't full speed at that point because we hit the fog! At least it was only for the last bit of our journey and we arrived at 'the farm' as it is affectionately known, at 9.45. Jon had a day of fruit tree pruning, and I had a day of nattering scheduled! Both went successfully to plan,. I had a nice catch up with the girls to begin with over a cup of tea. Then I drove over to see mum. Did a few jobs - obviously checked out the loft (it's definitely still there) and had a chat to Manda on the phone. After I had some lunch with mum, I drove back to see how Jon was getting on. While he was finishing off the last two small trees, including a lovely corkscrew hazel, I had a chat with Liz about the history of her lovely house, and we got onto family history, and stories/writing and all sorts. It was really nice, as I love the history of places, and it comes alive when you hear stories of a place and the people who once lived there. All really good data gathering for any potential novels. I know I don't have time for writing at any length without letting another hobby go a bit, but I did get lots of ideas today.

Just as it was getting towards dusk we headed to mum's for an hour before joining Isabel and Richard at their house for dinner. Richard had cooked a tasty couscous dish, and we were treated to a boozy tiramisu for pudding. It was all really lovely, and a proper Saturday treat! Now we are heading home. ETA about 11.15pm. I've offered to share the driving...I suspect I won't be called upon! We are singing to the best of Simon and Garfunkle as we drive. That should keep us awake!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.