New bowl

I was helping at the coffee morning at the village hall today. I went down early so that I could pop downstairs to the community shop. I broke Reggie's dinner bowl recently so I decided to wait until today in the hope that there would be something suitable in the shop. Of course there was, it's like an Aladdin's cave! I had a choice and just loved this chicken bowl. I donated £2 for it which I was told was really too generous. I don't think so! It would have cost me so much more to buy new and with a flagstone floor breakages are inevitable! Reggie approved as his dinner was gone in a flash as normal. It was a slow start upstairs, just a dozen or so people for the first 40 minutes. Everybody must have had a lie in, by 11am there was hardly a seat to be found and the cups were running out! The hall was alive with the sound of people, young and old, chatting and laughing, enjoying a hot drink and a bacon butty. We stop cooking just before 12 noon when it's last orders! Then to the washing up! We used to try and wash up as we go and there's usually someone who will roll up their sleeves and get started but since the pandemic we haven't been able to have more than one or two in the kitchen as it's a small space. It's also a a hindrance to the cook while they are busy. None the less we were all done and dusted by 12.30. 
I didn't get any sewing done for a third day but I have managed to sort out my travel plans for February which as well as the half term grandchildren minding, I am now including a weekend with my SIL in Gloucestershire. I learned  that I can travel direct from Durham to Cheltenham, result! Tomorrow I will book all the necessary train tickets and enjoy a day sewing. 
Hope everyone is having a peaceful weekend enjoying something that pleases them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.