DERWENTWATER

Such a lovely day today.  We got up early and left home by 9.00 am.  I had booked a table to eat at the Pan Asian Restaurant at the Lodore Falls Hotel and Spa in Borrowdale for 12.15.  

We headed up the M6 and then coming off at Junction 40 turned down the A66, which was lovely and quiet today. We could still see snow right up on the tops, but not much.

We arrived about 10.30 and were going to stop for coffee but we were to early for that for non-residents so we just went for a walk instead.  We found a footpath just up the road that went over marshy ground right round the southern most tip Derwentwater.  The path led to somewhere called Menstry but we just walked for an hour before turning round and coming back. It was a well laid path with quite a large area with covered wooden planks, so it made walking very comfortable.

It was so lovely but very strange light today - sometimes it seemed perfects, other times it was very dark and then bright sunlight so we had to shield our eyes.  Boy it was so cold here, much colder than at home in Grange (-over-Sands not Grange in Borrowdale) but so lovely.

Now if I've got my geography right the fell with the clouds on the tops is Skiddaw!!!!  Please forgive me if I've got this wrong.

I certainly wouldn't want to do this in the summer as it would be heaving with people but today it a little busy but pleasantly so.  We could see white horses on the lake but a lot of the little inlets/bays were protected and the water was quite still.

On returning to the hotel car park we changed shoes and then went for our coffee.  Very friendly service andnice coffee and then went through to Mizu.

We went past a frame with Buffallo Bill's autograph and note as he stayed at the hotel back around 1888!  I did know this as Garron and visited Mizu a few days before lockdown back in 2020 so wanted to show it to Hubby too.

What a fantastic meal - absolutely delicious.  Not cheap but well worth it for a treat.  The service was very friendly and efficient and we loved it.  I had chef's special sushi, then king prawn sweet and sour with bamboo shoots and noodles, followed by dunken pineapple (pineappe soaked in malibu) with coconut and lovely little cake.  Now I confess I also had just one glass of wine (white for me as I don't like red it upsets my tum).  Now this meant that with being full of delicious food, some wine and the sun shining, as soon as I'd directed Hubby through Hubby so he knew where he was going and I fell asleep!!!  Now I did see some of the glorious Lakes views but I just couldn't stop dozing off!!!

We got back home about 3.30.  A really lovely day out.  Planning now to take Garron to Mizu for his birthday in April!!

The Lodore Falls Hohtel has it's own car park but it has a barrier.  It's OK if you are using the restaurants or staying but you need a daily code to get back out again.  I knew this and it was fine as we were eating there.  I can understand why they do this because even on a fine mid-week day in January there were quite a lot of people around the nearest car park, Kettlewell by the lake was already almosts full when we arrived!!

I hope you've all also had a good day.  Thank you so much for dropping by and leaving your lovely comments, stars and hearts.  I will see you all tomorrow.  By then I should have developed all my photos but by the looks of it a lot are over-exposed, but I will see what I can do with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.