My fireplace

Some will remember many years ago, (i checked and it was 2011) Jon fitted this Victorian style fireplace in the space that was just an uneven hole. How I'm glad we have it today, as the saga of our heating continues. The conclusion with the heating engineer and other experts he has consulted, is that we have a blockage somewhere in our system. But where? The radiator in the lounge (the only radiator we have downstairs now) had a cold patch, and was clearly full of gunk, but whether that is causing the overflow into the header tank, we don't know. So it's been removed and is so blocked we have decided to get a new radiator anyway. Not sure how much of a bill we are racking up with this chap, but it's not going to be low and I'm not convinced this is the end, as the pipe which should have the cold water in it, is still hot. I think we are face one of two things, and both are going to cost thousands of pounds. One is tracking all our pipes to find the blockage - so taking up floorboards, digging up concrete floors downstairs etc, and replacing it if we can find it. The alternative is to ditch this way of heating and put in electric radiators which are wired in. No need for a boiler or the wet system we have now. I think we will see how it goes with this radiator then if it doesn't work, turn off the heating and put electric plug in heaters in the bedrooms. It's costing £400 a month and we can't carry on like this. We need some months of not huge electricity bills to try and save to get it fixed. This year has to better than the last. Perhaps it's the reason I've forgotten to find a positive in my day for the last week or so. That didn't last long did it?

A positive thing did happen today though. I got the call from Aldiss to say my new sofa is ready to be delivered, so I paid the balance and its coming Tuesday.

Work is work. Not much to say on it. Now I need to get back to feeding that fire!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.