Wildlife in the City

I am often so
surprised by the wildlife that
lives among us here

~ carliewired

I was awake in the wee hours this morning. The first thing I did was check my security cameras. I discovered that a buck and doe had visited my front yard twice. They first came in just after midnight, then returned about 4 AM. I'm sorry to say there was nothing for them to eat in my yard. They would have left very disappointed - twice! 

I managed to put myself back to sleep for a few more hours and headed off to Mission Flats just after 9 AM. It was calm, cloudy and -3 C.

I thought I would drive to the end of the road but I caught sight of eagles in the trees beside the Thompson River. I stopped and got out to get some shots. There was a threesome that immediately got my attention. A mature bald eagle, a juvenile and a crow were very close together. The crow was harassing the juvenile. It inched closer and closer while it  squawked repeatedly. I thought I was about to witness a slaughter, but finally the juvenile eagle shook out its wings while looking directly at the crow. The crow flew off voicing a great protest. I don't understand what that was about. 

I turned back to the north shore as I needed to stop at the office. As I pulled into the driveway I spotted a doe munching along the edge of last year's planter. I couldn't imagine what she was finding to eat. She wasn't alone. There were other does with her. I got a shot of one hunkered down under one of our big pines. It wasn't until I got home to download my photos that I realized she had company under the trees. Deer have that magical quality of blending in and disappearing in the landscape. 

I have another fellow coming to give me an estimate for flooring this afternoon. I will putter around until he arrives. 

We have another cloudy day in store for us with a high of -1 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.