A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Glistening.

I spotted this Hellebore flowering at the bottom of Grace’s garden on Tuesday and took a couple of pictures of it then but as we returned from our excursion today I decided to take some more. I’ve made it my Flower Friday blip as I love the little droplets from this mornings heavy frost and mist on the outer petals.

There was a lovely sky along with the hard frost first thing but by the time Chris and I set out a heavy mist had descended. We walked in the opposite direction to Bath towards Batheasten. 
Grace had suggested an off-road route to take that we’ve used before to descend Solsbury Hill but we went too far and ended up in Northend. The hill today was completely shrouded with mist - extra
Northend is very pretty and we passed one of Eda’s potential schools, but we were aiming for a recommended bakery and cafe called Gathers. Unfortunately there was a sign outside saying ‘ Sorry, closed all week due to Covid!’

So we took the bus into Bath. Thought I could use my M&S coffee vouchers for a free drink but there was a long queue so I took Chris back to Sally Lunns for a coffee and toasted bun. We got a top and a bottom between us so cut them in half and shared as suggested, also we ate them with a knife and fork as recommended - extra.

Back at the house the sun had reappeared, the mist lifting as we came out of the eating house, and I took my blip. 
Don’t think we’ll want any lunch!

We’re now waiting to hear from Grace when she leaves work in Bristol and we will meet her in Larkhall before going to collect the girls.

Babysitting tonight so the parents can have an early birthday (Grace) evening out.

Happy weekend everyone.


The weather today was exactly the opposite of the forecast on last night’s local news, it said a better morning would be  followed by a cloudy afternoon! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.