Behind you !

Woke up in the night to wind buffeting the building.  It was still at it in the morning.  Out first thing to close my plastics recycling bin and put a brick on the lid then rescue my kitchen door mat which was heading for the front of the house.  Blackbirds were being tossed around in the gale so I put some food in the ground feeder although no other birds were around. Noticed the feeder on the clothes pole had been blown off so hung it on a lower rose bush  then retreated indoors.  Showered, dressed and looked out at the back garden where the trees were thrashing around and the fences shaking. Next doors swings and trampoline were keeping still anyway which was a relief.  The usual laundry got underway and I settled on the sofa with breakfast thankful I didn't have to go anywhere or do anything much.  As the day went on the strength of the wind began to drop so I took some bird photos and even did a bit more garden tidying.  It's littered with twigs which I left alone but I collected up quite a few monkey puzzle tree cones which had blown over from next door.  I've never seen them before.
Mealy worms and sunflower seeds were delivered and the Hermes guy delivered my order from the Ethical Superstore.  Driving didn't sound fun.  He said some roads were blocked but he found ways round them OK.  I had thought about going to the coast but then had thought better of it.  I'll see what it's like tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.