Aconite Avenue

Storm Malik hit today and we had an amber weather warning.  We have not even recovered from Storm Arwen.  It was very windy, but bright and sunny with a lovely blue sky.  BB’s ruby was called off at the very last minute as the opposition did not want to risk travelling in the wind.  Given we were all up and getting ready, the pause button was hit and everything slowed down.  TT headed out to help at church, BB didn’t make it out of his pyjamas for quite some time and was moping around as he was hugely disappointed that there was no rugby match.  It would have been their first game in a couple of months, as all competitive games have been stopped due to Covid.   I pottered doing a few chores. And eventually headed out late morning to pick up lunch, from our regular Friday lunch provider.  I managed to walk a route where the wind was mainly behind me, until I was coming home with lunch, uphill and into the wind. I felt exhausted by the time I got home.  Our tasty lunch was very much needed at that point.
 
Having been wondering why we were onto a storm beginning with “M”, when I had only been aware of “A and B”, I discovered that Malik was named by Denmark.  Storm Corrie is just around the corner – expected on Sunday evening.
 
After lunch, TT and I headed out for a walk,  He chose the route and we pretty much walked straight into the wind for about three miles, before we changed direction and walked back along the railway path.  By which time the walk  just felt like a yomp.  We picked up some stuff for tea on the way home and by the time we actually got home the wind had really dropped.  I did feel worn out though.  BB asked me if I wanted to watch JoJo Rabbit, so I collapsed on the sofa with a gin and tonic and watched the movie with him, while TT cooked up a storm in the kitchen.
 
Later TT joined me on the sofa and watched Scots Squad – which I half watched.
 
I popped into St Mary’s Pleasance when I was out picking up lunch.  The aconites were all in bloom under the laburnum arch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.