Imbolc

Imbolc is a Celtic traditional festival marking the beginning of spring. It falls about half-way between the Winter solstice and Spring equinox. It doesn't mean we are done with Winter, just that the seeds of spring are beginning to awaken. The literal translation is "In the belly of the mother." 

Today is also the day of Lunar New year and Chinese New Year. It's the Chinese Year of the Tiger.

Snowdrops are traditionally associated with this festival so I thought I'd venture to the park and find some to Blip. There were not as many as I expected - at one time the whole bank was covered in them, but this year I only found this little clump.

Work was very quiet once again last night. I am back there tonight then that is me done until Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.