Another running injury

I was so happy to have returned to running on Saturday after a 10-month break. So at lunchtime today I enthusiastically set off for my second run of the new season. Mr hazelh tagged along, although 5 minutes in I said that he needn't have bothered.

I am, of course, now extremely grateful that Mr hazelh was there to pick me up when I went flying at the mid-point of the route. I tripped on broken tarmac when I moved from the centre of the cycle path to the left on hearing the approach of a couple of bikes approach behind us. These grazes are the more superficial of my injuries. The main one is my twisted ankle, which is now rather swollen and painful. To get around the flat this afternoon, I have been using Mummy hazelh's spare stick.

I have to say that the witnesses to my fall were very kind, and if Mr hazelh had not accompanied me, I am sure that someone would have helped me hobble home again. One even offered to call an (unnecessary) ambulance.

Prior to the drama I worked on my journal article and Jackie told us about her hip replacement operation (by a conference call). Afterwards I prepped for the start of our Platform to platform (P2P) project tomorrow.

The good news of the day is that Leo has submitted our journal article, and Bruce, Iain, Marianne and I have won a small internal research grant for a project that fits nicely with P2P.

Exercise today: aborted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.