Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Crocuses

Last night's camera club meeting did not work as well as I hoped it would. Hybrid meetings don't really work that well - those watching on zoom miss out on what is happening in the room, and as only one person (the judge) wears a microphone so you miss out on all the other comments. My two images did quite well, both were held back (kind of like short listed) and then scored highly. But we lost sound for the last 15 minutes so for those of us on zoom we could not hear the rest of the judging.

Today was rather dull, I was hoping for some sunshine but it didn't happen, so nothing attracted my eye for photos when out on my walk with Xena.

A neighbour diagonally over the road moved out about 2 years ago, and the property was sold to a developer, who has now had plans passed so work should begin on the new house quite soon. I noticed in the front of the property there are crocuses and snowdrops growing, so I went over and took some photos of these tiny flowers today. I think this kind of photo is very boring but it is more as a diary marker of when the spring flowers bloomed. In our garden we are way  behind this, tiny little green bits have just started poking through the soil. It will be interesting to see what comes up in our garden as Gavin planted some more bulbs in the autumn but we have a squirrel problem as they eat all the bulbs. If we get a poor show this year then I will give up on bulbs.

I have been planning food I can take with me to Iceland. Not being able to eat gluten or lactose makes it very difficult when travelling, especially in a group when you are not free to go and eat where you want. We will be having full days with no down time, I think lunch will be a sandwich grabbed from a garage or supermarket we pass by, so I am taking quite a few packs of gluten free bread and nut bars. I can maybe buy a sandwich and transfer the filling to my own bread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.