Capital adventures

By marchmont

North Yorkshire

The agony walking brought me yesterday (though not the pain in my left foot) continued into the night.  None of my self medications, ibuprofen, milk, pillow, Spotify playlist, R3, and an ill advised BBC radio documentary from 1994 with many gruesome murders, worked so it was very early morning before I could get some sleep.  However, having a long lie wasn't a problem as it was raining.

Spent the morning doing some necessary admin before heading south to N Yorkshire (all of 5 miles away!).  Richmond was the destination but I drove out to Catterick Garrison first.  My father did his basic training there 70+ years ago, #1 son was based here 22 years ago and #3 son passed through more recently.

Then a walk along the R Swale, past the (free) waterfalls to The Station for lunch.  It is now a cinema, arts centre, shop and community facility.  However, retail therapy was curtailed by a town wide power cut.  I walked up, many hills here, to the Market Square and had a look round but the shops were closed or on 'cash only' and I don't do cash.

After warily coming down the steep hill on wet cobblestones (real cobbles.  How could anyone confuse them with granite setts?) I drove home via Swaledale, stopping in Reeth.  Few people but a lot of cars.  Its a national park centre so perhaps many walkers. The road over the top to Teesdale is wild and dramatic with amazing scenery.  Reminded me of parts of NW Scotland.  other parts of this area remind me of deepest SW France, undulating hills and isolated farms.

My last evening in Barney, with my woodburner and catching up on 'Chloe'.  Still an episode behind. 

And it's Valentine's.  The crochet bombers had been out in Catterick (and also Richmond but that was a spring one.

Good day - wide spaces are good for the soul. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.