Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A memorial to Carol

I was in Hexham to see Kenneth Branagh's Belfast today. We have a wonderful little cinema which is well attended. Big films come; they are just a couple of weeks behind the main release time.

I loved the film for its humanity and the way it showed one family facing intolerable challenges. I liked the fact that we saw the story through the eyes of a 10 year old child. The use of monochrome was perfect.

On my way out, I struck up a conversation with another woman. She had found the film unrealistically positive. The fact that she lived in Londonderry in the 70s influenced her views. I’m glad we spoke.

Outside in the rain, I went to see the new plaque. It is in memory of Carol, who died last year. She was a feisty woman, whose loud voice and strong presence made her well known as she sold fruit and veg from her market stall. I was a bit scared when I first met her, but soon saw the warm and friendly side that made her so popular.

The poem on the plaque ends, “Back in Hexham where you belong”. The seat overlooks the stall.

I was again very tired and did not post this on the day. Hoping to catch up with myself soon!

PS I have posted this on 16th instead of 15th. You can tell I am tired. I will post 16th on 15th otherwise the comments will seem very strange!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.