Catkins and Cones

A day off, however I had to log onto work for a couple of hours, to move some things on and make sure others knew what they were doing.  I had intended going for a run first thing, but it was so windy, I decided against it.  BB had a day of rugby training, so I had to make sure he was up in time, covid tested, breakfasted and ready with a packed lunch.  I wasn’t looking forward to driving him to the venue, but it wasn’t too bad and the sun was shining.  Once home I finished what I needed to do at work, logged off and packed my laptop away.
 
As the weather forecast was for the weather to deteriorate later in the day, I decided to go out for a walk to get my daily steps.  I got soaked, though the wind seemed to drop while I was out.  I came back along the river and the path was so wet and muddy it became hard work.  I was pleased to get back to town to pavements.  I stopped off to buy some lunch then  headed home to dry off.  Even though I hadn’t walked far, I felt like I had earned my lunch today.
 
The rain was off and on, but when it was on, it was really on.  BB thought they would finish early if the weather was really bad, so I headed off to get him early just in case.  The drive was horrid, really heavy rain with water everywhere and poor visibility.  I sat and read my book while waiting on BB.  They didn’t finish early, but when he appeared he was like a creature from the swamp!!  Wet through and covered in mud – but he said it had been great, so that’s the main thing!  We drove home in sunshine! 
 
We didn’t venture out again, as the wind got stronger, the rain was battering into the house again, with storm Dudley,   I started a new jigsaw and then made a chicken, leek and mushroom pie for tea. I checked in on my folks, whose weather didn’t seem to be quite as bad as ours.  Later I finished watching Chloe.  I wasn’t sure about it when I started watching it, but stuck with it and quite enjoyed it in the end.
 
These alder catkins looked jewel-like on such a dreich day.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.