Distance

I was in the office again today. It was another morning where I had to be up and out of the house like the pre-COVID times. It felt very strange. Today was noticeably quieter than yesterday in our office building; it seems Wednesday is not the most popular day sit with colleagues.

I was in for some workshops with our design agency and these were exactly the kind of meetings that you want to be in the office for as they needed the kind of collaboration that seems to work best in person. But I have found that the last two days have been much more tiring than sitting at home. I guess I am just not used it anymore.

As a result of our workshops I didn’t make my Tai Chi class in the evening. Given how tired I was feeling I was not too disappointed but it is the third week in a row that I have not been able to go for one reason or another. This has ruined my vision of a complete term.

I may have been a bit sleepy when I got on the train at Waterloo because I boarded a train that did not stop at Raynes Park.  I have been very fortunate that, when this has happened before, the trains have always been stopping at Surbiton and I have not ended up in Southampton or somewhere much further away. Thankfully, that was the case today.  I later checked to make sure I had not fallen asleep and just missed my stop. Reassuringly I had not.  But I did have about 20 minutes to wait for a London bound train that stopped where I needed it to stop and the wind was blowing a gale so it was very cold on the platform. PY messaged while I was counting down the minutes to the next train, “I was worried you’d fallen asleep and were on your way to Weymouth or something” which means, if I had fallen asleep, he may have called to wake me up before I reached the south coast.

Recently, the news has been full of rumours that the government is about to remove all outstanding COVID-related restrictions and it got me wondering how much longer we’ll see signs like this in everyday life. This one was on a bench on the platform while I waited for the return train. It was far too cold to sit on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.