An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

River Earn...

Up early as had to be at the Gynae Clinic for 9am.  Third hysteroscopy in 5 months.  Surely that qualifies me for loyalty points? *rolls eyes*

Once again I cannot fault the nurses and Consultant.  Such great care taken to explain everything and make sure I was as happy and comfortable as I could be when my dignity is left at the door and there's a great big spot light shining right at....well let's not go there.  You get the picture!  lol!

Thankfully this hysteroscopy was the quickest and least painful of the three. She was just checking something and is happy with what she saw, so all good. 

It amuses me no end that the informal name for a hysteroscopy is camera test.  Like most photographers, I hate being in front of the camera and this is no exception!  

The hysteroscopy procedure is in the spotlight at the moment (well I say in the spotlight, it's a woman's issue so more of a dim candle than a spotlight) around the issue of pain relief whilst the procedure takes place.  

Many women suffer great pain and are left traumatised by the experience, often resulting in them avoiding any form of internal examination ever again.  There is huge disparity between the pain relief offered to men (and women) for other invasive procedures, but it seems when it comes to women only procedures, the best advice on offer is to take two paracetamol an hour before the procedure commences.     

Lyn Brown MP (and Shadow Minister for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs) has been very vocal about it and supportive of women affected by the issue.  I watched her speak very passionately in Westminster about the subject at the end of January, and it is absolutely disgusting that nothing much has changed, despite her campaigning around this issue for at least 8 years.  I hope things change soon.

Once free of the hospital D and I headed to Gloagburn for brunch.  Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup for him and cooked breakfast for me (they do the most delicious poached eggs!) before heading home for D to swim with Alan and me to get on with some painting....except I sat down and dozed off for three hours!  To be fair I had some residual pain from this morning and had taken more full strength co-codomol, sol I blame that for knocking me out! :-)

We've been invited to afternoon tea tomorrow by our friends Keith & Mairi and I had planned to bake some cookies to take, but I've not been able to summon up the energy this evening.  Just as well we bought some goodies at Gloagburn :-)

On the way home from Gloagburn I was shocked to see how high the River Earn was (usual level here) It was pretty fast flowing too. Not a day for a paddle!  


PS Thank you for indulging my silliness yesterday!  :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.