The second half of life..

By twigs

Purakaunui Bay

I'd planned to get up in time to do some sunrise shots of the bay (it is a beautiful bay) but when I woke to rain I figured there was little point in getting out of bed.  By mid-morning last night's party-people were waking and packing up their wet tents and within a couple of hours the camp looked as I had initially expected it to - just a handful of campers and plenty of space.  I did a 'Take 2', relocated the van to a position with a prime view and settled in for another easy day.........a couple of walks round the bay, exploring, and just generally relaxing in a stunning environment.  So good for the soul.  Maybe tomorrow I'll get some sunrise pics....?  Had a brief encounter with a seal which I swore wasn't moving and may well have been dead.  A zoomed pic showed me it was tagged and I could identify its number - if it was dead I would inform DoC so they knew what had happened to it - there was no way I was going to get too close to find out though.  Luckily, later on I was chatting to some 'neighbours' who had seen the seal and seen it flapping around, lolling in the sand and using its flippers to flick cool sand onto itself.  Thank goodness I didn't approach it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.