Memory Lane Revisited...

...and Revamped!

On Feb. 14, I blipped about my huge challenge of converting bulky photo albums into a more compact and accessible format. I got lots of suggestions from fellow blippers and those ideas have been spinning around in my head ever since. Lately, I have been looking for projects that do not involve close-up work, especially with text, so I thought this might be something I could undertake for the time being....So yesterday I gave it a try...

I really liked the ideas that people suggested..One of my favourites was leave them intact! I decided to take that advice - at least for my favourite trip albums. I am going to just keep them as they are..They tell the story well; I put a lot of work into them at the time, and they mean a lot to me. So, I picked those favourites out and set them aside and will store them where they are easily accessible whenever I get the urge to reminisce. Done! 

Some special trip albums though are so old that they are falling apart and the photos are discoloured; they will get even worse if I leave them as they are. So, I think I will leave the photos stuck onto their pages, photograph whole pages and use the photos to make one of my hardback photo books on my laptop. I tested that with one page today from the album in my blip, and yes, it is possible..

That album is a special one and I really want to preserve it. It was a  backpacking trip I took through Europe with my young 12-year-old daughter way back in 1979. Although I didn't keep a journal back then, I did keep good notes and also wrote descriptive letters and postcards home to my parents who kept them! Those items will really help me fill in the story. I think that project has a lot of possibilities. 

And then there are the albums of everyday family photos and short vacations etc...Yesterday I took two such albums off the shelf, took the photos out, labeled the ones I was keeping and then stored them in ziplock bags by year. Eventually these will have to be sorted and digitized and either stored on memory sticks or made into photo books .. I really like the idea of Home and Away books that one person suggested..so am leaning to that...

And this is just the beginning; there are many many albums, but I have to start somewhere...Think big, start small...

A big thank you to everyone who took an interest in that Feb. 14 posting and offered such great ideas..

Meanwhile, I do apologize for being so far behind checking people's journals and commenting....I really miss doing that and will try hard to catch up once I get my vision corrected.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.