pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Trouble Man

There is a scene at the start of Captain America: The Winter Soldier where Sam (Falcon) tells Steve Rogers (Captain America) to check out the Trouble Man soundtrack "Everything you missed, jammed into one album". Steve promptly adds it to his list of things to experience (having originally missed them because he was in an elongated ice bath cryo sleep……thing). 

I initially missed the Trouble Man soundtrack because I wasn’t born for another six years, but having enjoyed Marvin Gaye’s other stuff (is there a time when What’s Going On isn’t prescient?), I thought that 50 years on from its release, it was time to give it a listen*. 

I’m really glad I did as it is very cool and you can feel the film noir-ish, PI overtones coming through and it definitely bears repeat listening. I get the impression that the film is not held in as high esteem as the soundtrack - link is to the film over-dubbed with a modern soundtrack - some people have wayyyyy too much free time (like you, reading this).

“Trouble, man” was also on my mind after a phone call right at the end of the day yesterday, the fall out of which was dealt with over the course of a few phone calls today. We’ve somehow managed to work ourselves into a position where one incident has two possible outcomes with three separate parties all having different expectations and each requiring a different tack to deliver the solution required. Times like these I am glad to have a good team around me to help thread the eye of this particular needle.

In much more fun news, we stuffed ourselves with pancakes this evening, but not before we visited the house to pick up my baking bowl and undertake a progress check – beams have been sanded, boards have been added. I was reminded that my children are definitely mine as they immediately viewed a stack of plasterboard as a makeshift stage and started singing We Don’t Talk About Bruno (time to stop signing about him though) from Encanto.


*I could then also claim that I was just like Captain America. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.