Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Passing through

Groups of Purple Finches are passing through our area right now and this morning I had a pair at the feeders.  They are frequently confused with House Finches but when you see the two side by side, the differences are distinct, starting with the bolder facial markings on both sexes of Purple Finch.  Anyway, nice to see them today.

Although we still have snow across most of the backyard and woods, the temps are nice today and the sun is shining.  Tomorrow will be a whole different story, I'm afraid as we get what will hopefully be the last snow of the season.  It is also going to be extremely windy so I think I will be taking photos from the comfort of my sofa.  

Jax is sleeping at the moment, which is giving me a much needed break.  Why, again, did we think getting a puppy at our ages a good idea???  Seriously, though, we had a good walk on the Lane where we met two of our neighbors walking.  She always keeps a dog treat in her pocket and I had her make Jax sit nicely for it.  

The bed craziness continues.  Last evening Phoebe plopped herself right in the middle of Jax's crate and wouldn't leave.  So this morning Jax attempted to cram his 50 pound self into her little bed on the file cabinet in Hubs' office.  And then there is the issue of the toys...Jax is forever bringing a toy to one of the cats, trying to entice them to play.  They are never favorably impressed and hissing ensues, which gets the dog all jacked up as I suppose he thinks this is some exciting new form of play.  Oy!

Good news from my oncologist today regarding my bone density test - all numbers are improved from 2 years ago which means the bone strengthening medication (and probably increased exercise) are doing what they should.  

My new 5TB drive for the Mac arrived today so tomorrow I am going to make the final transition from the PC to the Mac, switching the back up subscription at the same time.  Fingers crossed.  

Thanks for all the comments/stars/etc on my strange hand print yesterday.  I am interested to try this using a firm mud to see if the same optical illusion occurs.  It was a very fun experiment.

Dark with salted caramel today - from Uganda.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.