Snowdrops replanted in the green

Here are a few snowdrops from my mother's garden. I have planted them 'in the green' between our bay tree and the pond. Amongst them were some other bulbs, but they look so like wild garlic that I am going to plant them separately in a pot. There I can keep an eye on them. If they come up as snowdrops next year, they will be admitted to our flower beds. If they do not, they will be banished.

By this evening I had finished working my way through the news events from World War II in LornaL's blipfoto journal and identifying newspaper clippings from the British Newspaper Archive to use as illustrative material in the podcast version of the war diary. As I did this, I came across Lorna's 1941(?) poem Ring out you broken bells. If you take a look, you'll see that it echoes loudly today.

My not-so-little sister returned to Northumberland after lunch (or, in her case, breakfast) so I am now in sole charge of Mummy hazelh for the next few days.

Exercise today: 50 minutes on the exercise bike.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.