Mr hazelh's planter

Mr hazelh has finished the construction of the planter that has been making for me for my birthday. All he needs to do now is stain it. Then it will be ready to position on the patio and fill. He displays his work in my blip.

My creative energies today were focused on domestic duties. These included making chutney using the apples that Emma gave me in the autumn (they have kept very well in our pantry cellar), and preparing a proper Sunday lunch. We had our main meal of the day mid-afternoon to accommodate an evening trip to the Edinburgh Playhouse.

Our theatre visit was a huge success. I don't think that I have enjoyed a show so much since I took my parents and not-so-little-sister to Hexham's Queen's Hall to see the The Scottish Falsetto Sock Puppet Theatre in April 2017.

Tonight's show was I'm sorry I haven't a clue * with Jack Dee, Pippa Evans, Tony Hawkes, Rory Bremner, Fred MacAulay, and Colin Sell. Neither Sven nor Samantha turned up, but Jon Naismith did a great job stepping in for them. We audience members also had a chance to perform the kazoo with the instruments supplied at our seats. The panel played many of the familiar games such as 'Pick up song', 'Uxbridge English dictionary', 'Censored song', 'One song to the tune of another', 'Sound charades' and - as variation on another old favourite - 'Morningside Crescent'. It was all so much fun and the three of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

*I am a very proud uber-fan of this show. In the past, the teams have played a couple of my contributed games ('Vegetarian songbook', 'Ornithologists' corner shop'), and I believe that I am the only listener ever name-checked by Humphrey Lyttleton (in an episode recorded in Cardiff in June 2007 and broadcast at the end of that year).

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.