Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mule Deer Retreat

I had to drop something off at the shop in Madera Canyon.  I didn't go with specific intention to get a blip but I did have my camera with me. Coming up the mountain I saw quite a few deer. I keep my eyes glancing from side to side because I never want to be surprised by a loping deer crossing the road.

On my way down, I spotted a small herd of deer. I quietly pulled the car to the side of the road and walked across the road. They continued to walk behind the grasses and trees. I watched their paths and pointed my camera to an open spot where I thought they might walk so I could get a shot. 

I'm still. I'm concentrating. I'm in full anticipation mode. Then out of nowhere I hear a woman's loud voice, no more than a foot behind me say, "what are you looking at?"  She scared the bananas out of me. I had the perfect shot in my sights, but startled, I moved and lost the shot.  Then they were gone; thus, this was my best shot of the day.  Not all days produce magic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.