Paper Making Town

Saturday and my alarm went off earlier than I would have liked as  BB had rugby in Penicuik this morning.  While not all that far away, it’s still a journey up the bypass.  We got to the vicinity of the rugby club thanks to the sat nav, but there didn’t seem to be any parking at the rugby club (turns out everyone struggled to find the place!).  I threw him out and went in search of parking, then went for a wander.  It was a morning of changeable weather, one minute brilliant sunshine, the next dark clouds and a rain shower. 
 
I headed back to the where I assumed BB was playing only to discover that the opposition were only fielding seven players, so they split our team into two and they had a few games of sevens.  It was a mud bath, and BB was probably the muddiest player on the pitch – which made him easy to spot.  They ended the morning  with a short game of tens.  They had good fun and BB scored again – so he was happy.  They were amply rewarded with hot dogs, and they were delighted.  BB went up for seconds before he left, and as he was the last one to go for seconds, he got a roll with about five sausages in it – result!!
 
Heading home I took a wrong turn and instead of ending up on the bypass we were on a magical mystery tour, at least we were heading in the right direction.  We eventually got back onto the bypass and made it home.  I made BB take his muddiest kit off outside.  He then needed his lunch – the hotdogs were only a snack!
 
I watched the first half of the rugby with BB, then headed out with TT to a local nursery and then the supermarket.  When we got back, I left TT planning tea (which was another very tasty curry) while I went out for a walk.  Later I finished the jigsaw, and even  later we watched a programme about Nirvana which featured some interesting people.
 
I spotted this old Penicuik sign in a “shop” window, which I  think it is actually now a heritage museum.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.