COOT REFLECTION

The carpet fitters arrived this morning nice and early, as they said they would - 8:25am!!!

So after breakfast and ensuring everything was set up OK I decided to leave Hubby in charge (well he likes to think he is anyway) and pop over to Leighton Moss.

I was going to go to the hide where the avocets have been seen but have decided to leave that until later when perhaps I can take Hubby with me.

So I visited 3 hides - Lilian, Causeway and, at long last, the Lower Hide.  I heard a Bittern several times but didn't see it.  The first time I heard it I stood stock still to make sure I was hearing correctly and man passing by with huge lenses confirmed it was a Bittern.

I met a squirrel in the path, only a great one though - my lovely friend Mr Robin was there, in his usual place to greet me.  Basically it was mostly, coots, swans, various ducks, oyster catchers, blue tits and sparrows - oh an a pheasant.  

It was a lovely morning.  In fact I arrived so early, 9.30am , that they hadn't opened up the back door yet, so they did so for me.  Having said that there was still a couple of people ahead of me so there must be other ways into the reserve!!

It was lovely and quiet to start with.  I noticed a lot of work had been done around the reserve, reeds beds cut back, areas cleared etc so it was really lovely.  I got back to the cafe about 11:30, just in time for last breakfasts being served - I just had Cheese on Toast as a sort of Brunch with coffee before heading home.

The carpet had was all finished by 2.00 pm - looking fantastic.  Apparently they had trouble getting it in and hadto bring it up over the balcony (as it is rather large) and they had to get a third person - luckily one the Stephenson's (well known local builder who actually built this bungalow) lives across the road or his son lives down the road so all was good.  

I'm now having to get the house back in order.  Have done the basics with the furniture but will start on getting all the boxes unpacked and the second bedroom back to how it should be tomorrow.  

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.