pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Plant-based

The old adage has it that “every day is a school day” and today, well, I have been to class and done me some learning.

I have learned that it is not a good idea to present home/interior design magazines to two young children and ask them to look through and point out things that might be used in their soon to be renovated rooms.  We’ve already been through the devil red walls debacle with The Youngest and we’re now dealing with bright orange walls for m’boy and a ceiling suspended tree-house/den for The Youngest where presumably her pagan altar will reside, upon which no doubt many a sacred goat will slaughtered and offered up by her grinning, blood spattered form as a means of entry to the hell-mouth she has somehow figured out how to open. 

The second lesson of the day came from a well-intentioned but literal backfire. We’re all guilty of enjoying junk food at my place, so I thought I would try and give this a healthy twist by slipping the wee ones a couple of plant-based burgers and yes, I choked back everything I stand for and had a couple myself. Well, what a mistake that was…whilst the burgers weren’t too awful and indeed borderline edible, the remainder of the evening has been punctuated by what I can only describe as the continued staccato trumping emanating from the backsides of the wee ones. 

The resulting stench has been so bad that I’ve promised my parents (whose house we are staying in) that the place will be fumigated before we leave and if it makes them feel any better, I’ve now got a headache from the number of scented candles (borrowed from Matty’s altar) burning throughout the place to combat the odour.

How was your Tuesday? 


P.S. Thanks for the congratulations on yesterday’s play news!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.