An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Tut! Tut! It looks like rain...

I'm just a little black rain cloud...

Lovely hydrotherapy session in the pool this morning to try and loosen me up before my MRI at Ninewells in the afternoon (the appointment that I missed last Thursday after getting stuck in the A90 road closure because of the school bus fire.)

I was very lucky to get another appointment so quickly but I knew from the timing of it and how I would likely feel afterwards (very sore as due to my arthritis it is very painful to lie flat on a hard surface) that it would be unlikely we'd make it to Esme's dance show.

I have to say the staff at the Clinical Radiology Dept were so lovely.  They did their absolute best to make me as comfortable as possible, with extra pillows for my head and foam wedges to put under my knees, but even with all that I still felt as though my back was breaking.

I seemed to be in the machine for a very long time with them reassuring me via the headphones I was wearing (to try and diminish the racket the scanner makes) I was doing great, but the pain became unbearable, and just as I pressed the emergency buzzer they'd given me to say my back was about to spasm and I'd have to come out, it ended.  Phew!  Also I was melting!  It is so hot in the machine! 

Results to the Gynae consultant in a week to 10 days and then we will finally know exactly what size this bliddy fibroid it.  The ultrasound scan suggests 12.5cm (apparently equivalent to a 16-20 week pregnancy, which explains why, despite having lost almost two stone through dieting, I struggle to fasten jackets over my stomach.  See, it's not just a food baby ;-))

We were late getting out of the hospital and I knew we'd never get to Motherwell in time to see Esme in her dance show, plus I knew there was no way I could sit in my wheels or a theatre seat all evening.  I needed cocodamol, a cuppa and my comfy armchair!  

Once I had those I conked out and only woke up when Ele texted me from Spain to find out if I'd managed to get to Esme's show.  Just as well she did as I still had my Tesco order to complete for delivery tomorrow morning! 

I feel so sad at missing Esme's first dance show but thankfully Nikki hadn't told Esme we were going, just incase we didn't make it, so I was able to stop fretting about her looking out for us and us not being there.

Nikki sent me a photo of her pre-performance.  Apparently she was a wee star and loved every minute.  She's a born performer!  lol

Now after my long snooze this evening, I am hoping I will sleep tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.