To McLure and Back

It was a morning
with some promise and some fun,
a time with a friend

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck at 6:30 getting a shot of my mountains before the sun appeared on the horizon. It held the promise of a good day for weather, if only for the morning. 

I had arranged to pick up M, my plein air painting buddy. We haven't painted together for more than 2 years. Each of us was being very careful before we had had our vaccinations. Finally, we have compatible weather to encourage us to venture out together. I dropped off my quilted heart at Vantage Point on the way to her house. 

As we headed east along the train tracks, the small herd of 6 does I'd met before, suddenly were moving along the roadside. Thankfully, traffic stopped to let them by, they crossed the road into a soccer field and we moved on. 

Our destination this morning was McLure at the north end of Westsyde Road. As I drove, we noted the changes made by the pipeline development in this valley. My surprise was finding two turkey vultures perched on a dead log beside the road. These are summer visitors to our area. They must have just arrived back from South America where they winter. I grabbed a quick shot and we carried on. 

I parked near the ferry dock where we each set up our chairs to paint. It felt very odd for me to draw and paint after such a long time away from it. I got a shot of the North Thompson River that M was painting. It was clouding over by the time we were done. We got some rain on the way back home. 

My daughter woke up ill this morning. I took her food and juice when I'd dropped M back home. I didn't stay as I don't want to be ill. I'm back in my recliner and a nap might be nice. 

We've had a mostly cloudy day with some rain showers and a high of 12 C. Tomorrow sounds much the same. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.