Rose Hill Road - South to North

A day to reflect
on those dear and the beauty
of our precious world

~ carliewired

I was late getting up (9 AM!) and slow getting away from the city. I took my first shot of my beautiful red amaryllis which is blooming this week and now at its best. I determined what my daughter might need for provisions. She assures me that she's better today but she has a horrible cough. 

I collected my breakfast, shopped for my daughter's needs, dropped them off in her stairwell (she didn't want me to come in to get sick, too), made a quick stop to pay my respects at the cemetery, then was off to a drive through the upper grasslands. 

I took the Merritt highway from the top of Aberdeen and turned off east on the Rose Hill Road. This is one of my favourite drives. I take my time and savour every moment. I drove with a window open so I could smell spring and hear the bird song.

My surprise and first stop was a photo of the eagle perched on a power pole. He'd found an excellent place for surveying the grasslands. He was taking his time this morning, just as I was. 

Rose Hill Road is a climb up from the highway. The elevation allows a look around the ranches in the grasslands. Today, I could watch the clouds moving across the hills and hovering over the valleys. It was a turbulent sky with rain curtains hanging down and moving along. The sun managed to peek out often. There was still some snow in the shady, dark places. The gravel road had wet, muddy spots in the low areas. I had to roll carefully through the potholes. The ponds held ducks and geese. 

I climbed to the top and began the descent in second gear. The road has had a tough winter. I am always surprised by how many new, elegant homes have been tucked into the hillsides in the trees off Rose Hill Road. The new development on the north side now has its roads paved. Some of the houses there will command a view of the city, the river and right out to the lake. However, the owners will definitely require 4 wheel drive!

I was home just after 1 PM. The weatherman has promised us a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 13 C and a chance of showers. While at the top of the hill, a few small flakes of snow filtered down over me.....happy to live in the valleys! 

I'm home making quilted hearts today. My ice cream maker has arrived so perhaps I will give it a go! (Yes, I need ice cream like I need another hole in my head. LOL!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.