Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Striped

Although it is early for them to be about, there seems to be a lot of chipmunk activity in the garden right now.  Jax is fascinated and I am attempting to teach him not to chase them.  Nurture over nature - we'll see how that all works out.  

Anyway, after a nice FT chat with my parents and a walk on the Lane with Jax, I settled on the patio with my D850 on a tripod.  I'm really rubbish with using a tripod but it's something I need to get more comfortable with, especially as I continue to age and my hands will become less steady as I get older.  The birds really weren't cooperating but this little chippie was making my job easy, posing perfectly on a snag with the sun at just the right angle.  Lucky me.  I had a bunch of shots but like this one the best as it shows his lovely stripes and cute little tail.

I made chicken jerky in my food dehydrator today - it's meant to be for Jax for training treats but I helped myself to a piece because it's really tasty.  Just plain chicken breast with no seasoning.  Very easy to make and Jax seems to love it so I may have a good option for healthy, hi-value training treats.  Several people have also suggested dehydrating chicken livers so I may try that too.

In 48 hours I will be on the final leg of my trip to OR - yay!  I can't believe I will finally be able to hug my parents again.  

Dark with dried cranberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.