Raindrops keep falling.

It's been raining all day.  The sort of steady rain that you know isn't going to stop.  Put some clothes through the washing machine then spent the morning on crosswords and Wordle until the postie delivered my new phone.  Won't have a Sim card till I go into Glenrothes on Thursday though. About half past twelve the rain let up a little and I went into the garden to see if I could find a photo as I reckoned it wasn't going to be much of a walking or photographing day.  I expected raindrops all over the place and there were.  Excited to find a bud on my tree peony.  I've had it for about five or six years and this is the first sign of it flowering.  It's a tightly furled bud so it will be a while before it opens.  Then I found a strange flower also in bud. Rather like a butterbur but I don't think it is one.  Something else to keep an eye on. The rows of raindrops on the mahonia berries caught my eye and appealed the most  although I was taken by a little red tulip half full of water.  The other two had had the good sense to close their petals. Looked in the front garden and ended up doing some weeding. Shepherd's Purse is flowering and it has to go before it seeds or there'll be more next year.  Came in as the rain got heavier then remembered I needed to go to the Pillars.  Water all over the road and practically no cars in the car park. A lot of chat as there were no customers and the day was dragging.  Discovered we were both fans of the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and Alan Rickman.  Afterwards I went to Strath and walked in the Community Woodland thinking I would be sheltered from the rain.  A bit dim of me as there are no leaves yet. But went home well pleased that I'd got out and done something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.