The waiting room.

A normal morning of kitchen cleaning and groceries. A bit of lying about then off I went to have my eyes tested. Left the opticians quite a bit poorer and OK for another year but between failing sight and growing cataracts feeling it's a lottery.  Took myself to the EE/BT shop to get a Sim card for my new mobile.  Ten minutes they said.  Ha !  To be fair they organised a new contract with BT which would include my mobile and be cheaper than my present one.  That's when things went pear shaped. There had to be a credit check and it went on and on and on.  I think HQ were checking I was who I said I was  rather than was I a good payer as I'd had my old contract with them  for four years.  I'd arrived about five, the shop closes at five-thirty, it was now after six and I realised the car park my car was in closed at  half past six. Raced off saying I'd be back as the poor guys in the shop continued with the struggle.  Found the car, got to the exit barrier and realised I needed a ticket from a machine two floors above.  Then a disembodied distorted echoing voice from some security person in the upper regions kicked in.  I couldn't understand a word it said.  A total nightmare. In the end the guy raised the barrier and let me out without paying warning  me "not to do this again"  By this time the skies had opened and I raced through the streets, forgetting about energy saving driving and nearly going down a one way street the wrong way.  The EE shop is in a pedestrian area but I got pretty close. Parked and almost ran to find one of the guys still there sheltering in the doorway.  The credit check had not been resolved and he would phone me tomorrow when it was.  With the rain coming down like stair rods I offered him a lift and left him beside his car at the railway station.  Drove home gradually calming down.  Saw the most amazing double rainbow but by the time I found somewhere to stop it was past it's best and I could only capture a section.   When I got home discovered my broadband wasn't working. Jumped through all the usual hoops and found there was an outage  which they claimed was fixed. Only it wasn't.  Phoned Andy later and found it had been out ever since I'd left for Kirkcaldy. Commiserated and decided the best thing to do was go to bed early so I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.