Siskin arriving.

A good night's sleep.  Andy phoned from his work just as I finished breakfast.  The broadband outage is due to some workmen at Ladybank who have cut through the main fibre optic cable. It's not clear when normal service will be resumed.  Maybe not till Sunday.  No phone call from EE in Kirkcaldy. Perhaps they e-mailed but I can't receive e-mails.  I don't have their phone number and I can't check for it online.  The old saying "You never miss the water till the well runs dry" comes to mind. Found an old Reginal Hill I haven't read for years and spent the day reading, photographing birds, and clearing out lots of my photo files.  I really made good progress there. Checked my hub at intervals but it was never blue, always green or red.  Went for a walk at Birnie late in the afternoon but managed to ignore housework.  Andy phoned in the evening to say his broadband was working again.  Went to look but mine was still off.  However it came on as  we chatted.  What a relief.  He went off to sort out his television and I checked my newly arrived e-mails.  Two from BT confirming I had been changed onto my new contract which was good news.  However I still don't have a SIM card for my mobile so another trip to Kirkcaldy tomorrow.  Found a quote I love in the Reginald Hill. "in this septic isle we live in, where squalid politicians conspire with a squalid press to feed a half-educated and wholly complacent public on a diet of meretricious trivia......."  A bit hard on the public who are not all complacent I feel but otherwise spot on.  The book was first published in 2010 so goodness know what Hill would say if he was alive today.  I've missed all your photos and diaries but hope to catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.