THE BRIDGE OVER THE RIVER....................

NO NOT KWAI - ROTHAY.

Boy there was a reet hoolie blowing last night - but when I woke up this morning it was quite bright and just a little windy.

So I had lovely day out today with G.  We just went to Sedbergh.  Had a walk around the town (well as much as you can with G).  Had a lovely coffee in the Smatt's Duo cafe, then did a bit of window shopping before we went to Westward Books.  This is a great secondhand bookshop and has two floors stacked  with books, all in good order and easy to find.  There is also facillities provided, you can get your self a coffee from a vending type machine if you want one and there are comfy sofas upstairs to sit on.  So we had a good browse and I managed to find a Miss Read for my collection that I had't already got (that is a rareity as there aren't many I don't have yeah!!).  G managed to get a few books he wanted too.  

So after spending a couple of hours in there we then went to the Black Bull for a lunch.  Delicious.  G had an excellent Chilli which he was said was very tasty but nice and mild and he thoroughly enjoyed it.  I had the Drover's Platter, which was home cooked ham, home-made bread, two small squares of local cheeses, home-made piccalilli and a garnish of beetroot, cucumber and pasta.  Delicioius.  Too much for me though, so I bought two slices of the delicious home-made bread home with me.

We sat in the Black Bull by a window looking out onto Main Street and watching the world go by.  We were so lucky, it rained briefly but only just before we went into the bookshop and then again just before we got into The Black Bull, so we didn't get wet.

After that rather than drive home via the M6 we drove back via the B6526 and A683 to Kirkby Lonsdale, bypassing the hamelt of Killington.  The photo is of a bridge over the River Rothay just outside  Sedbergh  near Holme Farm and not long before it joins the River Lune.

Hubby is going to the pub this evening (we think) with his mates so I will have to be a taxi service.  

That is all for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.