The Daffodil Party (The Daffodil Thief!)

While I was out the other morning planting things, I noticed that the tiny daffodils out by the deck were full of blooms. I decided to come out the next day and host a little daffodil party around the tiny daffs. At first try, we were driven back by rain. It was almost like my planning a photo shoot was having the same effect as a rain dance. But then it cleared again.

So out came Tiny Tiger and a host of others. The dog my friend Ellen sent me, riding on a little red car like the one Ellen used to drive (ok, so hers WAS a bit bigger than this), some museum gift shop critters, the Jeweled Stag, the cat who played with the frozen bubbles, the turtle who starred in The Great Texas Sea Turtle Rescue & Road Rally. Yes, everybody was there.

And the little bear who likes to tool around in the Austin Powers VW Cabriolet replica was there. Yeah, baby, yeah!! And once again, he played the role of the Daffodil Thief, riding away with several golden yellow blooms in his possession. They ended up in a wee vase on my kitchen sink, so not a single bloom was wasted!

When I got back inside from my photo shoot, my husband was listening to John Lennon. Now, this is a lovely thing to see because he is/was a big Lennon fan, and when he listens, he gets all misty, especially at the croony love songs. Eventually, he just sits there with tears running down his face, with the volume way up high, as was the case on this day.

Did I mention that he was very good friends and co-workers with one of my best girlfriends (before he met me, and before I met her), and that they are BOTH big Beatles fans, and that they sat and cried together at work the morning after John Lennon was shot? Yeah, it was like that.

I asked my husband later if there was a Beatles song that he would dedicate to me, and he said there is one. So I am going to put this song right in here as my soundtrack song for this day. Though it has perhaps zilch-nada-bupkis to do with the picture, here are the Beatles, with I Should Have Known Better.

I should have known better with a girl like you
That I would love everything that you do
And I do, hey, hey, hey, and I do


Whoa, oh, I never realized what a kiss could be
This could only happen to me
Can't you see, can't you see


That when I tell you that I love you, oh
You're gonna say you love me, too, oh
And when I ask you to be mine
You're gonna say you love me, too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.