Capital adventures

By marchmont

From the other side

I slept surprisingly well, till I woke up about 2.30. Drank, listened to radio, dozed and got up at 7. Of course no breakfast but went down to feed the fat furball. He always looks so baleful.

It was quite nice driving through Edinburgh so early. It was quiet so I got to my destination in Dunfermline early. 

There was inevitably some admin to do and a PCR test, -ve. The NHS needs to make its processes slicker. Interesting though I was in Fife the nurses were from Forth Valley where the processes have been made less paper heavy. How far is Larbert from Dunfermline, 25 miles? Humph.

I arrived at 9 and was in recovery by 11.30 but it was not a fine way to spend a Saturday morning. The 3 nurses were absolutely brilliant and the doctor competent but not chatty.  Probably a good thing given he had to concentrate.  He is from Afghanistan, qualified in Kabul.  I am grateful we were welcomimg people from Afghanistan when he came to the UK, to work in the NHS.  I laughed when he arrived as I was waiting carrying his Starbucks. I'll spare you the details but I remembered why 40 years and 3 weeks ago I gave up on Entanox. The experience was repeated today.

But the news was good, as expected nothing to report, and after tea and toast (yum) I was let loose to enjoy the rest of Easter weekend, and I'm now joined by a Lindt dark chocolate bunny. 

Home via the new Lidl, bought plants, and now looking forward to a restful afternoon. Unfortunately despite what the weatherman keeps telling me the sun is not shining and it's not hazy but thick cloud and cool.  And the Hibs lost!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.