BRUNO

Footie this afternoon.  Newcastle were playing at home against Leicester.  Kick off 2.15pm.  The buses aren't very frequent on Sundays so I got an early one just to make sure I was in town with time to spare. 

I had a bit of a wander and then I sat on a bench near Greys Monument.  The weather was warm and sunny and it was very pleasant sitting there. I was joined by an elderly lady and we had a nice chat.  She was recently widowed and she talked about how hard its been without her husband.  She was waiting for her son and his wife who were going to take her out for lunch.  We discussed the footie. And we both agreed how wonderful it is to have a concessionary bus pass so we can travel for free and go on little outings. I would have talked longer but I had to head off to the match.

The streets of Newcastle were very busy as you can imagine with around 52,000 supporters making their way to the footie ground.  Spirits were high with everyone hoping for a win.

Things didn't go to plan at first as Leicester scored after 19 mins.  However Newcastle kept up the momentum and Bruno Guimaraes scored the equaliser after 31 mins.  So all level at half time.

Leicester played well in the second half but the Newcastle defence stopped them scoring again.  The match reached full time with the score still level.  But there was 4 mins of added time.  Could Newcastle get a last gasp goal.  YES THEY COULD.  Bruno again.  He scored with a header.  First time he's ever scored with his head. Just after he had scored the final whisle blew.  The crowd celebrated the win as if we had won the Cup or were top of the Premiership.  Amazing scenes.  The team stayed on the pitch for ages and walked around acknowledging the fans.   This win will probably mean that Newcastle will avoid relegation this season.  Although a few more victories would put things beyond doubt.

My blip shot shows the goalscorer Bruno with fellow Brazilian Joelinton next to him.  The player in the long blue padded coat is Frenchman Allan Saint-Maximin - no idea why he put that coat on after the match as the weather was really warm. 

I have added an Extra collage showing supporters heading for the East Stand turnstiles and a view of the pitch from my seat in the East Stand.

Bus home came on time and it wasn't too busy.  Had chicken for my tea and then I watched TV - Britain's Got Talent.  Wish they didn't have adverts for biscuits every time there is a break.  Ive used up all my syns for the day and the ads are making me fancy a biccy .

Steps today - 8,010

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.