Snake's Head Fritillary

I was sure I would sleep well last night – I didn’t.  Too much sun, sea, fresh air, exercise – who knows what it was, but I didn’t sleep well and felt very weary when I eventually got up this morning.  It was a lovely morning and I pottered.  TT was working (from Home) today and BB emerged sometime late morning.  I was contemplating a run, but wasn’t sure I had the energy, but I eventually hauled myself out the door and  ran seven miles, running out to Sandy’s Mill and back via the river path.  It was lovely and I was surprised my legs were able to cope with this, given quite a lot of walking these past couple of days, as well as a sleepless night.
 
Later I popped out for lunch to treat the worker and the one who was supposedly revising.  I did a few more chores, then popped out to purchase some snacks and incorporated a short river walk to stretch off my running legs.  It was then home to pack my bag, and to remind BB (yet again) that he also needed to pack a bag.  I was ready to go whenever TT decided he’s had enough of work.  BB got himself partly ready, but we were waiting on him in the end.
 
We set off down the A1 and very quickly were driving into the haar which was rolling in from the North Sea.  Further south, when we were further inland, we managed to shake it off.   We made good progress to our destination – a Premier Inn in North Yorkshire.  The evening was rounded off with takeaway pizza and a can of gin and tonic (for me), beer (for TT) and water (for BB).   The boys watched a movie and I finished my book.  Living the high life!
 
I had a quick walk around St Mary’s Pleasance when I popped out this afternoon.  The snakehead fritillaries were in full bloom.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.