Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Woodland Bird Walk

Every year, the Woodland Bird Walk, led by local birder, Nick Leeming, is the first one to be fully booked. It is often full by lunchtime of the first day.

I've been on the team for it before, but decided to go as an ordinary punter this time.

Nick is brilliant. He recognises birds by their shape, flight and song. We saw 50 different species. I know that I saw fewer because I completely missed the tree creeper for one.

It was only 6 miles, starting in the town and then taking in the river, woodland and moorland. We were out all day and I was very tired by the end. Something to do with being on my feet a long time...........

I was glad I had made fish pie last night so I just had to heat it in the oven for dinner.

Today's walk was definitely not for bird photography, so I just took my 'phone along. Nick found this nest of red grouse eggs, so that's the nearest you get to a bird photograph!

My extra is taken looking through the Alston Arches over the river in Haltwhistle. I always marvel at the ingenuity of the engineers who constructed this bridge.

We saw bluebells, golden saxifrage, primroses, cowslips, woodrush, dog's mercury and several more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.