A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

St Ives bird walk.

Something I’ve been wanting to do for ages but I’ve always missed it.  Even now out of the four over this month and last we’ve only been able to make one date and that was this morning. 

Meeting at Coppice Pond, St Ives Estate at 7.00 am it was rather a damp and dull start. On the way we passed the swan preening himself. Across on the island ( behind) the pen is sitting on the nest for another brood of cygnets. I don’t know how many broods they have had over the years but I do know when the swan arrived as a juvenile . I blipped him on the 6 November 2014. Our walk leader told us he was re housed on the pond from Riddlesden and he was the first swan he’d ever seen resident here in 40 years. The pen was a rescue and was introduced at a later date. If I recall correctly they have had a successful brood every year since.

There are Coot nests visible out on the pond and this one built precariously on the tree above the water is a Moorhen’s nest.

We stopped periodically to listen to and look at various birds along the way, roughly following the route we ladies walk on a Thursday. I learned that a Song Thrush sings phrases each unique to a specific bird and that it is a great mimic. The song of the Great Tit sounds like a ‘squeaky wheel’ which I thought was a very apt description. I can’t list all we saw and heard but at the top of the park near the golf course we stopped to watch and listen to a Pied Fly Catcher which he said was rare in St Ives but they are hoping they will nest there. In the same area we saw 4 or 5 Swallows.

It was remarkable what he could spot and hear, at one point he said ..’that was an Oyster Catcher just flying through’!

Sadly there was no little owl to be seen which I have blipped before but it was good to hear he had seen it earlier in the year.

Chris and I had to leave then, after about 2 hours, as he was on duty as warden at church and we both had readings to do.

The group carried on to the bottom woods of the estate. Next time I would like to do the whole thing, it was most enjoyable though I’m sure I won’t retain much of what we heard. I was able to ask him about Peregrines that have been seen at nearby Ravenroyd and he said yes they were there and still nesting in a chimney at Dalton Mills in Keighley despite the recent fire there.
Good to know that there is such a great variety of birds on our doorstep, sometimes they identify up to 60! Great to explore somewhere very familiar but find out so much more than what’s on the surface. I will keep on learning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.