VILLAGE SCHOOL

Even though its a Bank Holiday Ive had more or less a normal Monday.  Went to the village and shopped in Tesco and Herons.  However I did extend my walk to get my blip shot.

The theme for Mono Monday is " Anything Literary"  - thanks to 60plus for hosting.  I decided to go with a book called Village School so my blip shows the old Parochial School in my village.  ( unfortunately its no longer a school ). The book Village School was  written in 1955 and was the first novel by " ' Miss Read ' whose real name was Dora Jessie Saint ( 17 April 1913 – 7 April 2012) She was a schoolmistress by profession. From 1955 to 1996 she he wrote a series of novels centred on two fictional villages, Fairacre and Thrush Green.  The principal character in the Fairacre books, Miss Read, is an unmarried schoolteacher in a small village school. Saint's novels are regional social comedies, laced with gentle humour.  She was also a keen observer of nature and the changing seasons. She was awarded an OBE in1998.  She wrote a total of 20 books and I think I've read all of them - and quite a few of them are on my bookshelf.  ( She also wrote 10 childrens books.) I have added an Extra showing some of the illustrations from the book Village School. 

The weather today was dull and chilly.  Not a day for spending much time outdoors. 

Steps today - 8,379

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.