The Lookout

Another grey day
without the sparkle of some
sun to add some zing

~ carliewired

I went to bed with very low expectations for a sunrise. So, I slept in until almost 8 AM. The light was up and I headed out with my camera. It was 11 C and cloudy. 

I drove down to the Schubert Drive Lookout on the north shore.  It's close to home. I found a lovely pair of wood ducks cruising around the river. Sunshine would really elevate his colouring, but we've little of that today. 
The ornamental trees are in bloom and there's little bits of colour in the plantings. I found a painted rock by the totems. I think it has something to do with native land claims. Our local indigenous people have no treaty in place. I could look across the North Thompson River to my mountains in the east. The cottonwood trees along the shoreline are green now. I'm seeing more beaver damage at this location. In our city parks the crews have made an attempt to mitigate the damage by wrapping the tree trunks in wire. I don't see that happening here. 

Across the road I see a hydro box that's wrapped in a big decal with oversized tulips. I suppose it looks better to the neighbourhood to see this rather than a grey or green utility box. I must say it's a little jarring to see this perpetual sign of spring in the middle of a snowy winter. 

Also across the road is an elementary school in session. Usually, I'm here before school starts, but today after 9, the music class is moving outdoors. They have drums made from 5 gallon pails from the hardware store. I must give music teachers full credit for their creativity. I do remember that school budgets were always skinny. As the group gathered they began to create quite a din. I decided it was time to return home. I left my quilted heart on a bench beside the Rivers Trail.

I'm in with my fabric today. A pot of tea is in order. My daughter will be joining me soon. 

We might hope for a high of 17 C and perhaps a few showers on this cloudy day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.